Good afternoon!

My camera is back – WOOWOO!!! Here’s me, upon discovering my delivery:

Big smiles :-)

Big smiles :-)

After spending the morning looking at jobs, I received a phone call around 11:15 from Mr. Caughron. He informed me that he had nobody to eat lunch with (!), and requested my presence. I wasn’t all that hungry yet, nor did I have anything packed to bring, but how could I pass up a chance to spend some time with this guy?:

One of my fave pics of him, drinking an Old-Fashioned while studying for the GREs. That's my boy!

One of my fave pics of him, drinking an Old-Fashioned while studying for the GMATs. That's my boy!

So, I threw some clothes on and headed to Intel. I decided to have a small salad while I was there with spinach, olives, carrots, tomatoes, and cabbage. (This was pre-camera return.) I very much enjoyed my time with Mr. Caughron and Chef Matt, whom we invited to dinner with us and the ladies. We also had some coffee when Chris arrived, so we could hear the story of him spending twelve hours in the airport yesterday. Yuck!

When I got home, I was thrilled to discover my camera waiting for me. Thank you, Mama!! :-) And I was now hungry enough to eat a “real” lunch, and I knew exactly what I wanted: Heather’s Tahini Falafels, which have been on my Recipes to Try page for far too long. So, I got to work.

I used the squash Mr. Caughron brought me home yesterday :-)

I used the squash Mr. Caughron brought me home yesterday :-)

The Falafel "Batter"

The Falafel "Batter"

For the veggies, I tossed in some carrots, broccoli, the above-pictured squash, a red pepper, and half a white onion. I also did what Heather did, and replaced the olive oil from the original recipe with tahini. My falafel batter was a little more liquid-y then I expected it to be, and there are three possible reasons: 1) I used an egg instead of the flaxseed/water combo, 2) I did not follow the directions correctly and instead tossed everything into the food processor, and/or 3) I used whole wheat flour instead of chickpea or brown rice. Whatever it was, the batter wasn’t quite sticky enough, so rather than falafel balls, I made falafel cookies.

In the oven.

In the oven.

Out of the oven.

Out of the oven.

While they were bakin’, I arranged some tomato slices and spaghetti squash on a plate to eat with them.

PA160215I, of course, covered everything in black pepper, as well.

PA160221

With a tall glass of water.

With a tall glass of water.

Regardless of their odd shape, they were delish! Halfway through, I realized they’d be especially good with a little Greek yogurt, so I threw some on top. I may also have had an additional falafel cookie with Greek yogurt because it was just that yummy! Well done, Heather.

Newsworthy

  • Doctor Who Replaced Self-Pity with Promise: Every Friday, NPR has this Story Corps feature. Because of my blood test, I happened to be in the car for this today and really liked the story. You will too!
  • The Art of Defying Death: In honor of my new Yoga Friday, an article about how yoga can save your life.
  • The Holiday Cure: How to Wake Up Thinner: “Did you know the average Thanksgiving dinner is ranges from 2,000 to 4,500 calories?” Definitely worth a read.
  • The Won Thing: An Interview with Peggy McColl: In keeping with my “bettering myself” theme from yesterday, another article on how to get the most out of life. Interestingly, the line “Each of us has to decide on our own personal formula for success,” is practically word-for-word a sentence Adam wrote in his Wharton essays.

And now I’m off to bake the rest of my Tahini Falafel cookies, clean up the kitchen, and quickly get ready for our dinner dates! I’ll be back later with pictures (hopefully my camera finishes charging before we leave!) and my RAoK for the day.

I hope everyone is having a fantastic Friday! :-)

Emma